Imprint / Data Privacy

Cevdet Erek. Bergama

Stereo Works of music by visual artists

In the architectural and sound installation Bergama Stereo (2019) the Istanbul-based artist and musician Cevdet Erek uses the form, content and historical reception of the Pergamon Altar that is now in Berlin as the point of departure and reference for a new, architectural interpretation of the monumental Hellenistic construction.

Bergama is the Turkish name for the ancient city of Pergamon as well as the present town and district in Asia Minor. The famous gigantomachy frieze of the altar will be interpreted with a multichannel sound composition that will fill the space. Sound here assumes the central role in creating an architecture that visitors perceive acoustically as they move through the space.

Bergama Stereo is a site specific work conceived to be installed in two locations, each linked in a different way to the history of the Pergamon Altar and the historical context of its reception and reconstruction: The installation will be constructed at Turbinenhalle on the area of the Jahrhunderthalle in Bochum and then move to the Historic Hall of Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin. Forming an integral part of the exhibitions is a programme of concerts and performances, which will be staged within the respective halls and will take up themes and structural aspects of the architecture.

Ingrid Buschmann / Freunde Guter Musik Berlin e. V.
Gabriele Knapstein / Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof
Matthias Osterwold / Ruhrtriennale

Series "Works of Music by Visual Artists"

The series “Works of Music by Visual Artists”, initiated in 1999, is an ongoing collaboration of Freunde Guter Musik Berlin e. V. with Nationalgalerie – Staatliche Museen zu Berlin. So far the series has presented concert performances of musical works and installations by Hanne Darboven, Yves Klein, Hermann Nitsch, Rodney Graham, Stephen Prina, Lawrence Weiner / Peter Gordon, Käthe Kruse, Carsten Nicolai, Janet Cardiff & George Bures Miller, Cory Arcangel, Egill Sæbjörnsson & Marcia Moraes, Ryoji Ikeda, Susan Philipsz, Saâdane Afif, Ari Benjamin Meyers, Christian Marclay and Jorinde Voigt at Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin.

A coproduction by Freunde Guter Musik Berlin e. V., Nationalgalerie at Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, and Ruhrtriennale 2018-2020. Funded by the German Federal Cultural Foundation, with support by the SAHA Association.

Google Maps will set a marketing cookie if you allow to display the map from Google Maps. For more information see our Data Privacy Statement.

Click to display the Google Map.